• Loddon Herald

Winners in a washout

Updated: Oct 20, 2021

RAIN interrupted the Upper Loddon Cricket Association grand final on Saturday and handed the flag to Bridge-


Only 30 overs were able to be bowled at Arnold before Bridgewater had their hands on the F.P. Nevins and Co. Premiership Shield due to their higher finishing position on the ladder than opponents Wedderburn Band.

In what was a disappointing end to the season, Bridgewater claiming their first premiership since the 2016-17 season .

The game started on time, albeit under threatening skies at the Arnold Cricket Ground with Bridgewater having first use of the wicket.

Their innings started steadily with openers Josh Hann and Tom McKinley adding 40 for the first wicket before Wedderburn fought their way back into the game taking three wickets on this score.

Shortly after, rain forced the players from the field and although play resumed for a short time, in which Wedderburn gained another breakthrough, rain again stopped play, this time setting in for good.

As in the semi-final, Jordan Hargreaves and Lachlan Peters led the Wedderburn bowling claiming two wickets each, while for Bridgewater, McKinley top scored with 24.

Immediately following the cancellation of play, the F.P. Nevins Shield was presented to Bridgewater’s captain Harry McKinley.

The umpires judged Jordie Hargreaves the best player in the grand final and Braydon Welsh was the recipient of the Bishop player of the year trophy, the Merv Gilmore Memorial Batting Aggregate and the Batting Average.

The Graham Family Bowling Average and the bowling aggregate were won by Lachlan Peters .

Phil Scholes won the Scullie Wicketkeeping award for the third successive year while Welsh and Tom McKinley shared the Empire State Hotel Catching award.

Bridgewater v



J. Hann b L. Peters 14

T. McKinley c N. Holt b J. Hargreaves 24

J. Burke c & b J. Hargreaves 0

L. Harrison not out 16

L. Ross c N. Holt b A. Postle 5

O. McKinley b L. Peters 5

H. McKinley not out 0

Extras 3

Total 5/67

BOWLING: A. Postle 1-18, W. Holt 0-17, S. Barnes 0-16, J. Hargreaves 2-13, L. Peters 2-3.

Play abandoned due to rain

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All