• Loddon Herald

New ministry confirmed

Bendigo East MOP Jacinta Allan will officially become Deputy Premier tomorrow.

This follows a Labor Caucus meeting yesterday following the decision of five retiring MPs to step down from the ministry

The new appointments to Cabinet are:

  • Member for Pascoe Vale Lizzie Blandthorn will become the Minister for Planning and also take on responsibility for government business in the Legislative Assembly as Leader of the House.

  • Member for Bundoora and former Speaker Colin Brooks will be Minister for Child Protection and Family Services and Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers.

  • Member for Oakleigh Steve Dimopoulos becomes Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events and Minister for Creative Industries.

  • Member for Carrum Sonya Kilkenny will be Minister for Corrections, Minister for Youth Justice, Minister for Victim Support and Minister for Fishing and Boating.

  • Member for Eastern Victoria Harriet Shing becomes Minister for Water, Minister for Regional Development and Minister for Equality.

The Government said:

These appointments bring the number of women in the Victorian Cabinet to 14 – more than any other Australian jurisdiction – with three of the four parliamentary leadership positions also filled by women.

As the most experienced Minister in the Cabinet, Jacinta Allan will add overseeing Commonwealth Games Delivery to her responsibilities.

Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council Jaclyn Symes remains Attorney General and Minister for Emergency Services.

Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council Gayle Tierney will add Agriculture to her existing responsibilities for Training and Skills and Higher Education.

Treasurer Tim Pallas adds Trade to his duties as Minister for Economic Development and Minister for Industrial Relations.

Anthony Carbines will become Minister for Police, Minister for Crime Prevention and Minister for Racing.

Ben Carroll becomes the Minister for Industry Support and Recovery and Minister for Business Precincts and remains Minister for Public Transport and Minister for Roads and Road Safety.

Lily D’Ambrosio remains the Minister for Energy, Minister for Environment and Climate Action and Minister for Solar Homes.

Melissa Horne adds Minister for Local Government and Minister for Suburban Development to her responsibilities for Consumer Affairs, Gaming and Liquor Regulation and Ports and Freight.

Natalie Hutchins takes on the Education portfolio and becomes Minister for Women.

Shaun Leane remains Minister for Veterans and will work with local communities as Minister for Commonwealth Games Legacy – ensuring the Games leave a lasting positive impact across the state, with a focus on social enterprise and local jobs and procurement.

Danny Pearson becomes the Minister for Housing alongside his responsibilities as Assistant Treasurer, Minister for Government Services and Minister for Regulatory Reform.

In addition to her existing responsibilities for Employment, Innovation, Medical Research and the Digital Economy, Resources and Small Business, Jaala Pulford will take carriage of the government’s landmark Sick Pay Guarantee program.

Ros Spence adds Prevention of Family Violence to her portfolios of Multicultural Affairs, Community Sport and Youth.

Ingrid Stitt will oversee an expanded reform agenda in early learning as the Minister for Early Childhood and Pre-Prep and remains Minister for Workplace Safety.

As our health system continues to recover from the pandemic, Mary-Anne Thomas will become Minister for Health and Minister for Ambulance Services.

Gabrielle Williams will take responsibility for the huge reform agenda in Mental Health and continue in the renamed portfolio as the Minister for Treaty and First Peoples.

Ministers will be sworn into new portfolios on Monday.

Steve McGhie will serve as the Cabinet Secretary.

New Parliamentary Secretaries

Nick Staikos will become Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier and Paul Edbrooke becomes Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer.

Enver Erdogan becomes Parliamentary Secretary to the Attorney General, Sheena Watt becomes Parliamentary Secretary for Housing, Nina Taylor becomes Parliamentary Secretary for Health, Christine Couzens will be Parliamentary Secretary for First Peoples and Darren Cheeseman becomes Parliamentary Secretary for the Commonwealth Games.

Katie Hall adds Parliamentary Secretary for Creative Industries to her responsibilities and Tim Richardson will also add Parliamentary Secretary for Mental Health and Social Inclusion to his duties.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All